It was my turn to have the crazy dreams last night but as I have said before, I suffer from the frustrating inability to remember the damn things! I sensed they were full of the usual illogical concepts like my flat being in Leeds or my late father being the Headmaster of a school in France where I worked, but I genuinely couldn’t recall a single incident from any of them. It’s not because they were ultra-scary or anything (that at least would be reasonable), it’s just that I knew they were weird without knowing any details.

Back to reality – if you can call living abroad in a 2-berth caravan a kind of reality. The normal procedure for breakfast is now I get up, set the table and chairs outside and cook any eggs we may be having, while Mary does the teas. We sit in the sunshine, eat and drink, and slowly come to life. After a suitable time we may discuss what might happen that day but try very hard to keep things as flexible as possible.

This was to be a Sky Sports Super Sunday with 3 great games in the offing. I started to watch the first, a delightful helping of Scottish “up-and-at-’em” football as Dundee United strove to stop Celtic walking off with more silverware this season by knocking them out of the Cup. The first half was difficult to follow on a poor live stream so I persuaded Mary to come into the port area with me to find a pub showing the match.

A 10-minute walk took us there and we were soon seated in a pub watching the game. Suddenly the channel changed and it was Stoke v Man Utd! My enquiries revealed a group of English fans in an adjacent room who had changed the channel to see their favourites but had been watching the Scottish game beforehand. On my own there was no chance of me persuading them otherwise but I did get to see the last 10 minutes of extra-time during their half-time break.

Live Sex-Show!

Live Sex-Show!

Mary and I then walked around the harbour and back in the heat of the afternoon. We started by watching what appeared to be a strange spawning ritual by some carp-like fish which congregated near us just opposite the pub. That’s also where we witnessed a family of Scousers being loud and silly as only Scousers can be, but surprisingly none of them ended up in the water! We strolled to the far end of the pier to watch the anglers catch nothing as usual but we decided we would buy a fishing line for Mary to recreate her halcyon days at Wormit. We’ll look out for one when we visit Marbella tomorrow.

We parked here!

We parked here!

At five o’clock I returned to the pub to see the Chelsea v Man City FA Cup semi-final, but Mary went for a wander to the shops on her own just to keep her sanity. I as usual got into conversation with the local Brits, including a couple who have been here 7 years although he, a civil engineer, is a fitness coach while she, a professional accountant, earns her beer money as a cleaner. They have the same attitude as all the others we have met; they would rather be over here enjoying the little they have than working for the Man back at home.

There was still time for an hour’s reading outside the Magic Caravan before a late tea tonight after which we watched the telly then retired for the night. At the back of 11 it’s 28ºC in the caravan after unbroken hot sunshine all day. At one point just after midday it got too hot for both of us and we sought refuge indoors. It is the 14th of April! Viva España!

