Two days of tramping around Rome had taken their toll on our feet. From the moment we awoke we knew we would not be wandering far from the caravan today for the simple reason that our bodies said “No!” It’s quite surprising how much it can take out of you to keep going for five or six hours on your feet on the streets of a big city like London, Paris or Rome. But at least such things can’t spoil our trip as we just put off for another day any ambitious plans we may have made.

As I went to the luxury loos this morning my German neighbour drew my attention to the front of his motor home. I turned to follow the direction in which he was pointing and this is what I saw.

Just stay purr-fectly still!

Because my feet were sore, I spent the day on my writing. Along with reviewing both my autobiography and my early blogs, I suddenly started to scribble away on a piece of paper while Mary was checking the e-mails. Before I knew it, I had penned another incident in the life of my new character “Socrates, the sprinting Sorrento snail”. I had initially aimed the tale of Socrates at little Beth George as a reward for choosing our caravan name, but Mary thought that all the children in the family might like to read of his adventures, so this time, as you now probably know, I added the story to the blog as an additional bonus post. If the children like it at all I will try to write some further adventures.

We went for a stroll after lunch in the sunshine, having been warned by the same German neighbour that bad weather is on the way tomorrow and Thursday. To be fair we haven’t had a drop of rain to speak of since we were in Lake Garda and that feels like a lifetime ago so I’m sure we won’t mind too much if we have a couple of days overcast. Anyway, our stroll took us to Carrefour again where we did a little more shopping.

Our quite small basket of goods cost us 58 euro today and brought home the fact that food and drink in Italy is pretty expensive in these days. Most of the beef, chicken and pork puts you back 5 – 8 euro, the cheese is ridiculously expensive considering most of it is made here, fish is way overpriced now and even traditional fruit and vegetables are the same price as back home. I think pasta, olive oil, beer and wine are cheaper but that hardly constitutes the bulk of your weekly shop now, does it? Don’t answer that please!

Mary did some Nigella stuff for tea tonight, experimenting with a combination of mince, arriabata sauce and stir-fry vegetables (courgette, aubergine, red pepper and potato). The result was fantastic and was one of the best meals we have had in Italy. After tea we planned a couple of visits, one for a rainy day and one for a nice weather day. Outdoors we will follow recommendations from you and our fellow campers to go to Tivoli on the edge of Rome, while we will spend a day indoors at San Giovanni di Laterano (my personal favourite church on the planet) and perhaps the new Domus Romane di Palazzo Valentini which Trip Advisor rates number 1 attraction in Rome and describes as unmissable.

We’re not in a hurry to leave this campsite. It is very well-run, is not at all busy at this time of the year yet still has its shop and restaurant/bar open every evening, has the best toilets in Italy, is totally convenient for private or public transport into Rome and is of course not expensive at all. Our stroll around today showed us just how big the village is with an enormous number of bungalows and chalets for hire, so maybe the next time you fancy a trip to Rome you should check out “Village Flaminio” instead of a traditional hotel.

Just for the record, I was not paid to write that. Pity though.

